KSA #06 Planning · KSA #11 Assessment · KSA #15 Professional Learning

My PSI Challenge: To Create, Plan, Administer and Assess a Unit

At the beginning of my PSI semester, my TA looked at me and asked me if I was up for a challenge, naturally I said yes. She asked me if I would be up for teaching the entirety of the Hearing & Sound Unit. This was a huge challenge that I was excited to be a part of.

Personally, I find it easier to write things down so that I can visually see my plan before I dive right in. Prior to the unit I began looking long range to see where I needed to be and added to my plan as time went on. Eventually I produced my Hearing & Sound Unit Plan. This allowed me to solidly see which SLO’s would be taught on each day so that by the end of the term I knew the students would understand the concepts they needed in order to write their Unit Assessment and build their musical instruments (Performance Task).

It was extremely rewarding to be able to begin something on my first day of practicum and see it right through to the last and I am thankful I was given this opportunity so early on in my career as a pre-service teacher.

Until next time,
Mr. B

Leave a Reply

