KSA #03 Program of Studies · KSA #04 Subject Knowledge · KSA #06 Planning · KSA #08 Relationships · KSA #09 Instructional Strategies · KSA #15 Professional Learning · KSA #16 Vision of Teaching

Bonding has come to a close!

Well, I can now say I have taken my first high school science (CHEM 20 – Chemical Bonding) unit to completion! I have learned a lot!

One interesting thing about teaching a unit for the first time is that I get to see the students learning increase throughout the unit, but I’m right there with them learning each day. For me, I am definitely re-learning some of the chemistry involved in the material, but I’m also learning lots about teaching & learning and how connected they are. I think is so important as a teacher is to understand that we are forever learning, which is one of the things I love most about the job.

Key Learning (but not limited to):

  1. There are teaching strategies that are extremely effective for certain topics, and others that are not
  2. The gradual progression, scaffolding, of learning is so important to help students make connections to their learning
  3. Direct instruction is extremely important to help guide student learning – without it they are lost!
  4. Kinesthetic activities help bring abstract chemical bonding concepts to life, which help students make connections to their learning and expand their understanding!
  • Through reflection and discussion with my TA, I have realized that student-student and student-teacher interaction is extremely important to me as a teacher. I am extremely comfortable when the students are engaged in activities and out of their seats doing so. Personally, I find that this fits my teaching style better than when they are seated for extended periods of time. Recognizing this – “To incorporate more kinesthetic activities that are meaningful to promote student learning”, will be a goal in my PSIII.

The students; this is why we are teachers, is it not? For me it certainly is. The relationships that I have formed with my students has definitely helped me to see where I can grow and improve, what I’ve done that has been successful and what I’ve done that wasn’t bad, but could be better.  Authentic relationships with students are crucial when building a classroom community and have played a strong role when I’ve reflected on my own teaching practice.

Today, we begin the solutions unit. I will take my learning from the Bonding Unit and apply them here to this unit, even though they are very different. A goal for this unit is to incorporate kinesthetic learning activities to help my students make the connections to their learning. I also think that it is crucial for me to continue to ask more questions of my TA so that I can ensure I have the nitty gritty details of the topic being discussed under control.

I’ve attached two of my better lessons from the unit, I plan to attach additional lessons with reflection soon.

Covalent and Ionic Bonds

Unknown Bonding Lab

Until next time,
Mr. B

Leave a Reply

