KSA #15 Professional Learning

The End Always Leads to a New Beginning

I am currently sitting in my room in Lethbridge, AB. Bags are packed and as I look around the room I can’t help reflecting on my time here in Lethbridge.

Ten months ago I was dropped off in Lethbridge to begin something I knew was going to be amazing, but how amazing was yet to be determined. Now I sit here, ten months later bags packed ready to head back to Calgary; I cannot believe how fast the time has gone! I have been given the opportunity to meet so may fantastic people throughout my time here. The professors at the University of Lethbridge have modelled what it means to truly care about the students in a classroom and I am grateful for all that they have taught me. Perhaps even more important are the future colleagues I have connected with and the lifelong friends that have resulted. It’s amazing to see the camaraderie between people when they have a common goal, to better the lives of children. There was no competition for the best grade instead we all collaborated with one another to better ourselves and each other so that we could be the best teachers for our future students. Absolutely Stellar… enough said.

As I get ready to leave Lethrbridge and head back home to Calgary where I will spend my summer and live while I am in my internship this fall, I smile. It’s been an absolutely fantastic experience where I have met nothing but great people.

The end of this journey is leading me into the beginning of a new one. A new journey where I will take risks, encounter and overcome road blocks allowing me to grow. Not only will I grow as a teacher, but as a person. This is all moulding me into my future self, which is so exciting.

Until next time,
Mr. B

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

4 thoughts on “The End Always Leads to a New Beginning

  1. Justin, thank you for this poignant reflection on what has clearly been an amazing experience for you. It was a touching delight to read. I feel privileged to have been fortunate enough to bear witness to the growth you have experienced during your time as a pre-service teacher. I have no doubt whatsoever that you will continue to shine bright as you move forward on your journey toward becoming the remarkable educator you are clearly destined to be.

    1. Thank you Jennifer, again, for your kind words! It has been a great year of growth for us all. We’ve had a great group to collaborate with as we each are engaged in our journey. I am excited for what is to come for each and every one of us as we grow and develop to be the best we can be.

Leave a Reply

