4 thoughts on “Technology: A Communication Tool in the 21st Century Classroom

  1. Hi Justin,

    I really like how you will get parents involved with their child’s blog through access to the class website and a release form. This is a great way to communicate your students’ learning and enable good digital citizenship. I agree with you that Skype is a viable tool for two-way interaction and I look forward to incorporating such a tool too! As for Twitter, it is definitely a resource to share, gain, and collect ideas, as well as make connections- love how you will use it as a platform for students’ blogs! Thanks for a great read!

    Kaye

    1. Thanks Kaye!

      The use of technology in the classroom certainly excites me. Perhaps sometime we can have our classes interacting via Skype, Twitter or blogging to incorporate some cross-curricular learning in our classes. I wonder what this would look like, it could be interesting! The possibilities are endless…

      Justin

  2. Hi Justin,

    Great read. You have tons of great information in your post.

    I liked how you made a connection between your teaching practice and that of Jennifer. It’s always reassuring to know that your ideas are being used by others and are successful. That’s great that you were able to use video conferencing in your PSI, and even though it didn’t go as planned it’s still a learning experience.

    You mentioned that you are a proponent of Twitter. I would like to start using it as well with my classes. I was wondering what sorts of things you tweet and how often you use it. Have you found it to be an effective means of communication? Are there any challenges about using it?

    I’m glad to hear that this topic inspired you. Your passion on this subject is reflected in your writing. Thanks for sharing your insights.

    1. Hi Josh,

      Thanks for the comment!

      I tend to tweet daily and I like to keep my account mainly for professional uses. I will from time to time tweet about things I am doing, as long as they are still professional in nature, but show that I am actually a real human being. I check out what others are tweeting about and use the “re-tweet” feature or comment on other tweets to engage in conversation with others. I’ve also taken part in many Twitter chats, which are conducted at specific times using hashtags (#). Some good ones include (#edteach: biweekly on Tuesdays during the school year at 6 PM, #edchat: Tuesday nights at 5 PM, #21stedchat: 6 PM Sundays, etc.). Twitter chats are fantastic way to meet new people and learn a lot. If you want more information on how to take part in a Twitter chat visit http://cybraryman.com/howtochat.html (which also has a more extensive list of chats you can take part in). If you have any other questions about Twitter, please do not hesitate to ask me! I would be happy to talk to you about it’s benefits for me and to learning.
      For me, this has been a great resource to collaborate and meet tons of educators worldwide. I have been fortunate enough to attend several conferences and have had people come up to talk to me because they recognize me from Twitter. As with any resource on the Internet, there are issues (cyberbullying, unprofessional conduct, etc.), but this becomes a great time to teach students about digital citizenship and “netiquette” which are crucial to developing a positive digital footprint. Aside from this, Twitter is extremely user friendly and with the tech-savvy youth we work with, they will have no time grasping this social media tool.

      Justin

Leave a Reply

