KSA #08 Relationships

I appreciate each of you.

At Foothills Composite High School Alberta High School of Fine Arts, we have positive postcards. Each month we send a personalized postcard to four of our students and one staff member. These postcards require more than a “Good job, you’re working hard”. The purpose is to recognize our students achievements, but more importantly demonstrate that we are grateful that they are in our life. Each student and staff that I interact with each day impacts my life in some way or another. It is important to let someone know that they have impacted you in a powerful and positive way. Tonight I was thinking about which students and staff members have impacted me most in my short time at the school and exactly what I would like to say to each. I don’t think that it is any coincidence that tonight a friend posted the video below on Facebook; it is very appropriate to go along with the concept of the positive postcards. The point of them is not for each of us to feel happier because we’ve expressed our gratitude for someone else, but if that happens to be a byproduct, it’s a pretty great one.

Take a moment and watch the clip, the message is powerful. Tomorrow when I arrive at school for our PD I am excited to walk to the office pick up my postcards and express my gratitude for the students in my class and the staff in my building who have impacted my life in the short time I’ve known them.

Each of you have impacted my life in someway, shape or form (whether you are family, a friend, colleague, student or connection via social media) and helped me to grow into the person and educator I am today; for that I am thankful to have you in my life.

Until next time,
Mr. B

Leave a Reply

