KSA #15 Professional Learning · KSA #16 Vision of Teaching

As one chapter closes, another begins

take-chancesMy internship at FCHS/AHSFA is winding down. I owe a huge amount of gratitude to the staff and students at FCHS/AHSFA for the fantastic experience they have given me in my final internship, the learning and growth I have experienced here is something I will carry with me forever.

It’s a surreal experience. I remember when I graduated from my BSc and thinking, this feels awesome, but it’s not the end. I knew at that time there was more. This feeling is substantially different, it hasn’t sunk in yet. I’ve completed each of my goals (career wise) up until now. I completed my chemistry and math degree and then went on to finish my education degree. Even though I know now that this is not the end either, it is for a while.

I am so excited to take time now to begin my career as a young teacher. I have learned so much in this past year about myself, my views on teaching and learning. Now, I’m ready to dive in head first.

Speaking of diving in head first, I’ll be doing just that as I begin my career as a teacher. I will be teaching grade 7 math/science and grade 9 math beginning January 6. I’ve always wanted to teach junior high, but haven’t had the opportunity in a practicum. This is the real surreal experience, the way everything comes together, so so quickly.

I know this next chapter will bring new challenges, learning and growth and I cannot wait.

My motto for my first practicum was inspired by Ms. Frizzle “Take chances, make mistakes, get messy!” and given where I am headed now, I think it is the perfect motto to carry forth into my first role as a teacher.

Get ready kids, Mr. B is coming and we are going to “take chances, make mistakes and get messy together!”

Until next time,
Mr. B

Leave a Reply

