KSA #03 Program of Studies · KSA #04 Subject Knowledge · KSA #05 Differentiation · KSA #07 Student Needs · KSA #09 Instructional Strategies · KSA #16 Vision of Teaching

It’s been a while

It’s been a really long time since we’ve talked, sorry about that! It turns out teaching junior high has been quite the experience. Up until now I have had the pleasure of teaching grade 3 and high school science, this being my first paid job also turned out to be my first experience in junior high. I’m delighted to say, I really enjoy junior high!

I’ve been extremely fortunate to have a wonderful staff to work with and an even more spectacular grade 7 and admin team to work with! It definitely makes the days easier and more enjoyable. All this and I haven’t even mentioned how awesome the kids are! I’ve really enjoyed being able to work with grade 7 and 9 students this past month.

I love being free of the curriculum pressures, which I found evident in high school. I am not saying that there is less of a focus on subject matter in junior high, but rather I have found that there isn’t so much compacted into the year that there isn’t freedom to explore.

In Science 7 so far we have had the opportunity to explore heat and temperature science through various labs, kinaesthetic activities, discussions, debates and performance tasks. These activities have allowed students to be exposed to the subject matter in many ways reaching each learning style.

In Mathematics, most recently we’ve been involved in an assignment where students are given $20 000 to design 24 hotel rooms. Students are asked to design the rooms with actual items from a store of their choice. They are required to add and subtract decimals, apply a discount of 15% and finally 5% GST to their purchase. Several students have already told me, “Mr. B, this growing up thing doesn’t seem to fun! It’s a lot of work!” To which I responded, great! You’re experiencing the purpose of the assignment.

It’s been a whirlwind experience, but a fantastic one. The final course I’ve been teaching is grade 7 Leadership. However, I will save the fantastic work these students have been doing for a future blog post (coming soon).

Until next time,
Mr. B

Leave a Reply

